Lions of Iowa G. E. "Bud" Klise Leadership Award

PID Norm Dean established the Klise Leadership Award in 1989. The award is to honor the memory of Past International Director G. E. "Bud" Klise of Stockport, Iowa in District 9X4. Lion "Bud" served as District Governor in 1976-77 and as an International Director from 1980-82. Past Director Klise exemplified leadership as he served his fellow man. All others in our International Association who came in contact with Lion "Bud" and his lovely wife Marilyn loved them. His life was cut short by a fatal traffic accident shortly after he had announced that he would be a candidate for the office of International Vice President. The award, which was first presented in 1989, is presented as a part of the International Banquet at State Convention each year. The Klise Leadership Award is only on the State level. District awards may not use Klise in their title.

To date the following Lions have received the Klise Leadership Award: 1989 PDG Jack Barnard (9X4); 1990 PID Don McGee (9X9); 1991 PCC Chuck Hite (9X9); 1992 Lion Gordon Seaver (9X7); 1993 PDG Silas Finke (9X4); 1994 PDG Cleotis Gehrls (9X3); 1995 PDG Homer Eastman (9X7); 1996 PDG Harold Freeman (9X3); 1997 PDG Sid Hoover (9X1); 1998 PID Gary Fry (9X5); 1999 ID Del Brown (9X9); 2000 PDG Wayne Estell (9X5); 2001 Lion Mickey Thomas (9X5); 2002 PDG Dennis Crabtree (9X5); 2003 PDG Dr. Don King (9X3) and PID Norm Dean (9X9); 2004 PDG Rudy Arp (9X9); 2005 PDG Ron Donald (9X8), 2006 PDG Janet Wissler (9X3), 2007 PDG Andy Ploehn (9X9) and 2008 PCC Jerry Inman (9EC) along with a special award to Mrs. Marilyn Klise. 2009 PDG Loren Claussen (9EC), 2010 PID David Stoufer (9SE), 2011 PCC Keith Whitlatch (9EC), 2012 PDG Connie Inman (9EC), 2013 PCC Ardie Klemish (9SW), 2014 PID Judy Hankom (9NC), 2015 Lion Phil Larabee (EC) and VDG Paul Hain Jr. (SE), 2016 PDG Stephen Becker (9NE), 2017 PDG Pat Parker (9SW) and 2018 PDG Gary Glockhoff (9EC), 2019 PDG Allen Zobel (9SW), 2020 PDG Jim Bixler (9EC), 2021 PCC Terry Durham (9EC), PDG James Applegate (9MC), 2022 PDG Arthur Matje (9EC) Awards are presented May 5,2023at the State Convention in Cedar Falls.

The purpose of the award is to honor the memory of PID Klise and to recognize an Iowa Lion who has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability at any level of Lionism, Club, District, Multiple District or International.

Any Lion or Club may nominate another Lion for consideration for the award.

Applications should be sent to PID Judy Hankom, 705 2nd Ave. SE, Hampton, IA 50441 by February 28, 2025. A nomination form is provided which must be used. All nomination forms must be typewritten. In order for a candidate to receive greatest consideration be sure to present supporting materials in detail.

A committee consisting of the Council Chairperson and the Past International Directors selects the annual Klise Award Winner.

G.E. "Bud" Klise Leadership Award Nomination Form

Nominee:				
Phone: (Club Name:)	I	District:	
Nominated By: Address	y:			
Phone				
Member			nternational Level(s)	;
Past:				
Sponsor of	New Membe	rs.		
Extension Awa	rds:		(Name Cl	lubs)
Awards receive	ed in recognition of	of service:		

Leadership Activity: Tell why you feel the nominee should be awarded the Klise Leadership Award. This award is in recognition of **Demonstrated Leadership Ability** at any level: Club; District; Multiple District; International, and at the community level. All information provided must be typed. Extra sheets of paper are acceptable.

All nominations are to be sent to PID Judy Hankom, 705 2nd Ave. SE, Hampton, IA 50441. Nominations postmarked after February 28, 2023 will not be considered.